Finale And Award Ceremony ‘StartUp 2020, AID4ALL won the first prize!

Continuing its efforts to encourage business ideas and innovation, Junior Achievement Cyprus (JA Cyprus) hosted the Digital Finale and Award Ceremony of the “StartUp 2020” programme on Monday, 1st of June 2020. The competition was the culmination of the efforts of more than 100 students, aged 18-30. During the event, 10 finalists out of the 23 student companies created in 2020, presented their innovative business ideas and were evaluated through interviews by the Final Jury Committee.


The Final Jury Committee consisted of Andreas Papadopoulos, Chairman of JA Board, Spyros Charitou, Department of Public Affairs at the Embassy of the United States, Constantinos Karageorgis, Senior Officer at the Ministry of Energy, Commerce and Industry, Theodoros Loukaidis, General Director at Research and Innovation Foundation and Andreas Koupparis from CEO at Cyprus Business Angels Network.


The StartUp programme was piloted this year at the University of Cyprus, the University of Nicosia and the Cyprus University of Technology. During next academic year the programme will be implemented in more Universities of our country.


This year, the first ‘StartUp 2020’ award was won by the team AID4All, coming from the University of Cyprus. Many congratulations to the student team that proposes a communication system for deaf people. The product aims to replace the hearing loss with a sense of touch during sports, individual or group.


Exploit from Cyprus University of Technology won the second place. Exploit aims at physical literacy by proposing a playful app that encourages the user’s excursion to his near or far environment.

The third place was won by the SPORTZA team from the University of Cyprus.  The students propose an online platform/application that provides the ability to easily search and reserve available stadiums and sports venues and the option to create a team or find an opposing team.

AID4ALL will represent Cyprus at the JA StartUp European Competition that will be held digitally in June 24-26, 2020 by JA Greece. The Cypriot team will be represented by George Misi, Christos Pitsillos, Konstantinos Sarri, Anastasios Chrysostomou and Marinos Hadjistavris.